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Proposed Rulemakings

= BUSINESS EXIT SURVEY

The DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
AND  ECONOMIC  OPPORTUNITY
proposed a new Part titled Business
Exit Survey (14 IAC 530; 48 Ill Reg
12684) implementing Sec. 605-456 of
the Department of Commerce and
Economic Opportunity Law. The new
Part requires DCEO to send a survey to
businesses that are located in or have
left lllinois asking why the business left
the State and what incentives are
needed to keep or attract the
business. No later than every July 1,
DCEO must make an annual report to
the General Assembly on the survey
results that includes: the most
common responses, by industry and
region, that departed businesses cited
for leaving lllinois; the cities and states
to which these businesses relocated;
what  incentives  would have
influenced businesses to remain in the
State; and any other information
DCEO deems relevant. Businesses that

are leaving or have recently left lllinois
are affected.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments through 10/7/24:
Gina Arterberry, DCEO, 1011 S. 2nd St.,
Springfield IL 62704-3004, 217-524-
8974, Gina.M.Arterberry@Illinois.qov
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SNAP FRAUD

The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
SERVICES proposed amendments to
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
Program (SNAP)(89 IAC 121; 48 Ill Reg
12688) that update and add provisions
regarding investigation of fraud, abuse
and other intentional program
violations. Individuals convicted of
using or receiving SNAP benefits in a
transaction involving sale of a

controlled  substance shall be
disqualified for 24 months for an initial
violation and permanently for any
subsequent  violations. Persons
convicted of using or receiving SNAP
benefits in a transaction involving the
sale of firearms, ammunition or
explosives shall be disqualified
permanently. Disqualification begins
in the second month following the
date that the individual receives
notice of the disqualification. The
rulemaking also establishes a SNAP
Fraud Unit within DHS' Division of
Family and Community Services to
receive and investigate reports of
suspected SNAP fraud or abuse. All
reports will be evaluated within 120
days to determine if further action is
necessary. Civil or criminal fraud
allegations may be reported to an
appropriate authority such as a
federal, State or local prosecutor, the
Illinois State Police, or a local law
enforcement agency. Allegations of

(cont. page 2)

ADOPTED RULES: Rules adopted by agencies this week. EMERGENCY RULES: Temporary rules adopted for no more than 150 days.

PROPOSED RULEMAKINGS: Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a First Notice public comment period of at least 45 days.
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.

= - Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities and/or non-profit organizations. Agencies must consider

comments from these groups and attempt to minimize regulatory burdens on them.

QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: Submit mail, e-mail or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.
RULE TEXT: First Notice proposed text, emergency rule and peremptory rule text is available at the Secretary of State website
(https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/home.html) or at the lllinois General Assembly website (http://www.ilga.gov) under “lllinois

Register”. Second Notice text for proposed rulemakings (original version with any changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is

available at the JCAR website.




Proposed
Rulemakings

(cont. from page 1)

administrative violations may be
referred for benefit analysis, audits,
administrative reviews, or an eligibility
review. The SNAP Fraud Unit may also
enter into agreements with other
State agencies and with federal
agencies to share data necessary for
SNAP recipient and vendor eligibility
verification.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments through 10/7/24:
Tracie Drew, DHS, 100 S. Grand Ave.
East, Harris Building, 3™ Floor,
Springfield IL 62762, 217-785-9772,
DHS.AdministrativeRules @illinois.qgov

* FIRE RESISTANT MATERIAL

The OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE
MARSHAL proposed a new Part titled
Sprayed Fire-Resistant ~ Material
Applicator Registration Rules (41 IAC
255; 48 lll Reg 12707) that implements
the Sprayed Fire-Resistant Material
Applicator Act [425 ILCS 75]. The Part
outlines the process by which OSFM
will register persons as sprayed fire-
resistant material applicators and
establishes requirements for
applicators. The Act and the Part
define "sprayed fire-resistant
material" (SFRM) as cementitious or
fibrous material applied to a steel
structure as fire protection. An
individual seeking registration as an
SFRM applicator must be age 18 or
older; hold a valid driver's license,
other state ID, or passport; and
provide proof of having completed a
plasterer apprenticeship, at least 8
hours of training (on the job and/or in
the classroom) in SFRM application, or
equivalent training/certification as
determined by OSFM. Registrations
are valid for 3 years and the
registration fee is $75 for renewals on

DNR Public Hearing

FISHING

The DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES will hold a public hearing on
proposed amendments to Sport Fishing Regulations for the Waters of lllinois
(17 1AC 810; 48 lll Reg 9386) on Friday, Sept. 13, from 10 a.m. to noon at the
DNR headquarters (Lower Level Conference Rooms A & B), One Natural
Resources Way (State Fairgrounds), Springfield.

This hearing concerns proposed amendments published in the 7/5/24 Illinois
Register that clarify how fish length is measured; remove statewide
restrictions on fishing within 250 yards of an occupied duck or goose blind
during migratory waterfowl seasons; clarify which species and waterways
are open to bowfishing or spearfishing; impose a harvest limit of 2 per day
on paddlefish and clarify length limits and sorting restrictions for paddlefish
and salmon; update site specific regulations; clarify which exemptions to
site-specific length and harvest limits may be made for fishing tournaments;
and schedule June 13-16, 2025, as DNR’s annual Free Fishing Days. Public
comments on this rulemaking will be accepted through Friday, Sept. 20, at
the address listed below.

Questions/requests for copies/comments concerning the rulemaking or
public hearing: John Fischer, DNR, One Natural Resources Way, Springfield IL
62702-1271, 217-782-1809, fax 217-782-7616.

or before the expiration date. OSFM = BUILDING PROJECTS
will notify registrants at least 90 days

before their registration expires.

The CAPITAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD

Renewal of an expired registration is
$125 plus a S50 late fee. The
rulemaking also establishes processes
for OSFM to issue notices of violation
and civil penalties for violations, and
for affected individuals to appeal
adverse decisions. Written complaints
concerning unregistered activity may
be addressed to the OSFM Division of
Fire Prevention. Those affected by
this rulemaking include businesses
that apply SFRM in buildings.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments through 10/7/24:
Scott Gertz, Attn: Part 255 Rules,
OSFM, 555 W. Monroe St., Suite 1300-
N, Chicago IL 60661, 312-793-95689,
SFM.255rulemaking@fdmail.sfm.illin

ois.qov

proposed amendments to the Part
titled Selection of
Architects/Engineers (A/E) (44 IAC
1000; 48 Il Reg 12658) that update
and clarify various aspects of
architect/engineer  prequalification
and other processes. The rulemaking
codifies the role of CDB as an agency
and of the Board itself in the selection
of A/Es and aligns the definition of A/E
with CDB's other administrative rules
related to A/E prequalification. It also
establishes that program goals under
Business Enterprise for Minorities,
Women, and Persons with Disabilities
Act are based on estimated total
project costs rather than the
estimated basic services fee, and
updates or clarifies other provisions
related to the Business Enterprise Act.

(cont. page 3)
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(cont. from page 2)

Other provisions codify the role of CDB
and of the Commission on Equity and
Inclusion (CEl) in the Business
Enterprise Program (BEP) process;
require user agencies to verify
compliance  with the Business
Enterprise Act; require interviews for
projects with an estimated basic
services fee of $500,000 (currently
$300,000) and allow the selection
committee chair, with approval of the
CDB Executive Director, to choose to
conduct interviews for projects under
$500,000; allow selection committees
to include members of the public; and
remove duplicative statutory

language. Architectural and
engineering firms seeking State
contracts may be affected.

= CONSTRUCTION GRANTS

CDB also proposed amendments to
Early Childhood Construction Grant
Rules (71 IAC 43; 48 Ill Reg 12670) that
clarify application requirements and
scoring criteria; include units of local
government, such as community
college districts, in the definition of
non-profit  entities; allow joint
applications and leasehold
improvements when one non-profit
organization owns a facility and
another operates the early childhood
center; clarifying that eligible non-
profit early childhood providers must
be licensed day care centers; and
adding a statutory requirement that

early childhood centers that qualify
for grants cannot be located in private
residences. Other provisions change
the presumed useful life for
equipment from 20 years to 12 years
to be consistent with other CDB grant
programs; and state that liens may be
placed on the property as outlined in
the statute. Units of local government

and non-profit entities may be
affected.

Questions/requests for
copies/comments on the 2 CDB

rulemakings through 10/7/24: Lauren
Noll, CDB, 401 S. Spring St., 3rd Floor
Stratton  Building, Springfield IL
62706, 217-524-5065,
Lauren.Noll@illinois.gov




Adopted Rules

* COUNSELING/THERAPY

The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted
amendments to Marriage and Family
Therapy Licensing Act (68 IAC 1283;
proposed at 48 Il Reg 3461) and
Clinical Psychologist Licensing Act (68
IAC 1400; proposed at 48 Ill Reg 3520),
both effective 8/9/24 at 48 Ill Reg
12727 and 12770. Both of these
rulemakings require licensees to keep
a current street/U.S. Mail address and
current e-mail address of record on
file with the Division of Professional
Regulation; outline rehabilitation
factors to be considered when DFPR
considers restoration of a license
revoked due to disciplinary action;
define “face to face” communication

as live, interactive and visual
communication, including
video/remote sessions that are

synchronous and involve verbal and
visual interaction; permit CE
requirements to be waived for good
cause (previously, “extreme
hardship”); and allow DFPR to grant
variances from these rules on a case
by case basis. Licensed clinical
psychologists, licensed marriage and
family therapists, and their employers
are affected by these rulemakings.

Marriage & Family Therapy

Amendments to Part 1283 additionally
allow marriage and family therapy to
be delivered via telehealth and update
educational requirements for initial
licensure to allow for online and
correspondence courses. Required
semester hours now include at least 3
semester hours in clinical interviewing
skills or clinical theory, plus at least 3
semester hours each in introductory
family therapy, family therapy models,
couples therapy,
psychopathology/diagnostic systems,
individual development and family
relations, and clinical assessments.
The 300 required clock hours of

internship/practicum for marriage and
family therapists must include at least
100 hours of face-to-face contact with
individuals, couples, families or groups
and must be completed before the
license applicant begins to accumulate
required clinical experience hours. At
least 100 of the 200 required hours of
clinical supervision must be individual
supervision.

Clinical Psychology

The Part 1400 rulemaking allows
clinical psychologist licensee
applicants 3 years to complete the
application process if there are any
deficiencies at the time of application
(e.g., insufficient credit hours or
clinical experience) and specifies that,
beginning 9/30/26, the 24 CE hours
required each 2-year renewal period
must include at least 3 hours with
content related to ethics, 3 hours with
content related to diversity, and the
sexual harassment prevention and
implicit bias awareness training
required in 68 IAC 1130 for all
professional licensees. At least 50% of
the required clinical experience hours
must be spent providing services that
involve an ongoing, face-to-face
relationship with the individual or
individuals being treated, such as
group or individual psychotherapy,
assessments for developmental or
learning disabilities, or assessments
for behavioral disorders. Activities
that do not fulfill this requirement (but
may be counted toward the remaining
work  experience  requirements)
include  telephone-based intake
assessments, answering crisis hotline
calls, or teaching psychology to high
school or college students. Clinical
training must meet the standards
established by the relevant
accreditation commissions for clinical
training of physicians, physician
assistants or advanced practice
registered nurse practitioners. This
rulemaking also updates an

4

incorporation by reference of the
American Psychological Association’s
ethical principles and code of conduct
for psychologists.

SURGICAL ASSISTANTS

DFPR also adopted amendments to
Registered Surgical Assistant and
Registered Surgical Technologist Title
Protection Act (68 IAC 1485; proposed
at 48 Il Reg 3561) effective 8/9/24 at
48 1l Reg 12813, that require
registrants to maintain a current
street/mailing address and e-mail
address of record with DFPR, add
provisions for DFPR to consider
evidence of rehabilitation when
considering  restoration of a
registration revoked for disciplinary
reasons, and remove obsolete fees for
obtaining wall certificates or duplicate
copies of registrations.

Questions/requests for copies of the 3
DFPR rulemakings: Craig Cellini, DFPR,
320 W. Washington St., 2nd Floor,
Springfield IL 62786, 217-785-0810,
fax 217-557-4451,
Craig.cellini@illinois.qgov

= UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS

The OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE
MARSHAL adopted amendments to
the Part titled Petroleum Equipment
Contractor Licensing (41 IAC 172;
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 3646) effective
8/7/24 at 48 Ill Reg 12822, concerning
licensure  and  certification  of
contractors to perform installation or
retrofitting of underground storage
tanks (USTs) and equipment. The
rulemaking requires a contractor
seeking licensure to submit proof that
its certified employees have a passing
score on the required OSFM-approved
exam for the installation and
retrofitting module, or verify that

(cont. page 5)
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(cont. from page 4)

these employees have the credentials
and training to carry out the
manufacturer's recommended
procedures and instructions.

OSFM also adopted amendments to
General Requirements for
Underground Storage Tanks and the
Storage, Transportation, Sale and Use
of Petroleum and Other Regulated
Substances (41 IAC 174; proposed at
48 Il Reg 3654), Technical
Requirements  for  Underground
Storage Tanks and the Storage,
Transportation, Sale and Use of
Petroleum and Other Regulated
Substances (41 IAC 175; proposed at
48 Il Reg 3665) and Administrative
Requirements for  Underground
Storage Tanks and the Storage,
Transportation, Sale and Use of
Petroleum and Other Regulated
Substances (41 IAC 176; proposed at
48 Il Reg 3703), all effective 8/7/24 at
48 1l Reg 12829, 12838, and 12876.
Amendments to Part 174 update the
national codes and standards for USTs
that are incorporated by reference.
The Part 175 rulemaking provides that
removal or installation of more than
20 feet or 50% of a total piping run
requires an operational safety
inspection and cannot proceed
without an inspector on site. It also
provides that installation of a spill
containment device, with or without a
riser replacement, is work that must
be scheduled but does not require a
representative of the contractor
present at the site at the scheduled
inspection time. Systems that are out
of use for more than 1 year but less
than 5 years must meet all applicable
requirements in Parts 172 and 174
through 177 before being placed back
in service. “Back in service” is defined
as meeting all regulatory
requirements and having begun
regular dispensing operations typical

for that location. Amendments to Part
176 clarify that financial responsibility
must be maintained on an out-of-
service UST until the UST is removed
or abandoned in place. A motor fuel
dispensing permit shall be issued via a
green decal (instead of being issued
separately) and the decal and permit
shall both expire on 12/31 of the year
shown on the decal. Provisions that
delegate authority to enforce UST
rules and regulations to any
municipality having a population over
500,000 have been consolidated in
this Part and removed from other

Parts. Those affected by these
rulemakings include service stations,
convenience stores, and other
businesses and facilities  with

underground fuel storage tanks.
* FIRE STATIONS

OSFM adopted a new Part titled Fire
Station Rehabilitation and
Construction Grant Program (41 IAC
296; proposed at 48 Il Reg 3716),
effective 8/7/24 at 48 Ill Reg 12890,
implementing a provision of Public Act
103-8. The PA and this rulemaking
establish a grant program for
construction and rehabilitation of fire
stations operated by units of local
government. Fire departments that
are not units of local government, and
units of government that do not
operate a fire department, are not
eligible for grants. The maximum grant
amount to any unit of local
government in any fiscal year is
$350,000. Applicant local
governments must have participated
in the National Fire Incident Reporting
System (NFIRS) for at least 2 years, or
if OSFM issued their Fire Department
Identification Number (FDID) less than
2 years previously, the applicant must
have participated in NFIRS since the
FDID was issued. Applicants must also
abide by the Grant Accountability and
Transparency Act (GATA) and be
registered and qualified on the GATA
online grantee portal. A minimum of

5

60% of grant funds will be set aside for
departments that are all volunteer or
have a combination of paid and
volunteer firefighters. After receiving
a grant for fire station construction or
rehabilitation, the grant recipient
must continue to operate the fire
station for at least 10 years or for the
period specified in the Notice of
Funding Opportunity, otherwise the
grant must be repaid on a prorated
basis for each month the grant
recipient was not in compliance.
Other provisions include definitions,
composition of the Grant Review
Committee, authorized use of grant
monies, and recordkeeping
obligations. Since 1°* Notice, OSFM has
removed a provision that would have
allowed local government bodies that
contract with another entity (including
a for-profit or non-profit business) for
fire protection to be eligible for grants.
Small municipalities that operate fire
departments are affected.

Questions/requests for copies of the 5
OSFM  rulemakings: Tom Andryk,
OSFM, 1035 Stevenson Dr., Springfield
IL62703-4259,217-785-5758, fax 217-
524-5487,
SFM.USTrulemaking@fdmail.sfm.illin

ois.qov

ESTATE TAXES

The OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY
GENERAL adopted amendments to
lllinois Estate and Generation-
Skipping Transfer Tax Return (86 IAC
2000; proposed at 48 Il Reg 6413)
effective 8/8/24 at 48 Ill Reg 12718,
that update requirements for the
Form 700 estate tax returns required
for qualified terminable interest
property (QTIP). (The QTIP is a form of
irrevocable trust that allows a
surviving spouse to receive income
from the trust but retains the
grantor’s control over distribution of
the trust after the spouse dies.) The

(cont. page 6)
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(cont. from page 5)

rulemaking requires estates that claim
a QTIP election to state the value of
the property on the estate tax return
(estates of $4 million or more are
subject to lllinois estate tax) and
provide a schedule of assets
identifying the property subject to the
QTIP election. Any estate that includes
QTIP property of a predeceased
spouse must also provide the current
value of any QTIP property belonging
to the deceased spouse and a
schedule of assets identifying this
property. Real estate listings are not
sufficient documentation of property
value for a schedule of assets unless
an underlying factual basis for the

Second Notices

listed price (e.g., recent appraisal,
comparable sales) is provided. The
AG’s website address and a Section
addressing estate tax returns for civil
union partners are also updated.

OAG REPEALER

The OAG also repealed the Part titled
Crimes and Offenses, Impersonating
Officer, Advertisements (14 IAC 440;
proposed at 48 Ill Reg 6384) effective
8/8/24 at 48 lll Reg 12716, because
the underlying statutory authority for
this Part (subsection 17-2(c) of the
Criminal Code of 1961) was repealed
in 1999. The obsolete statute required
persons soliciting advertisements for
placement in  magazines and
professional  journals for law
enforcement officers or firefighters to

first obtain certification from the AG
that the publication represented a
bona fide police or firefighters’
organization. The statute also
required the AG to promulgate rules
and provide forms for this purpose,
which are no longer needed.

Questions/requests for copies of the 2
OAG rulemakings: 86 IAC 2000,
Frances J. Smith (312-814-6138,
frances.smith@ilag.qgov); 14 IAC 440,

Kristin Louis (312-814-2595,
kristin.louis@ilag.qov);, Office of the
Attorney General, 115 S. LaSalle St.,
Chicago IL  60603. For both
rulemakings, Kristin Creel, OAG, 500 S.
Second St., Springfield IL 62701, 217-
782-9070, Kristin.creel@ilag.qgov.

The following rulemakings were moved to Second Notice this week by the agencies listed below, commencing the JCAR review period.
These rulemakings will be considered at the September 10, 2024 meeting in Chicago. Other items not published in the /llinois Register
or The Flinn Report may also be considered. Further comments concerning these rulemakings should be addressed to JCAR at

jcar@ilga.gov.

DEPT OF HUMAN SERVICES

Electronic Prescription Monitoring Program (77 IAC 2080; 48 Ill Reg 4540) proposed 3/29/24

DEPT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Long-Term Care Assistants and Aides Training Programs Code (77 IAC 395; 48 Ill Reg 8740) proposed 6/20/24

Sexual Assault Survivors Emergency Treatment Code (77 IAC 545; 48 Ill Reg 4316) proposed 3/22/24

DEPT OF VETERANS' AFFAIRS

Educational Opportunities for Children of Deceased or Disabled Veterans (95 IAC 101; 47 Ill Reg 17418) proposed 11/27/23

Rules Governing the Board of Appeals (93 IAC 113; 47 Ill Reg 17429) proposed 11/27/23

MIA/POW Scholarship (95 IAC 116; 47 Ill Reg 17433) proposed 11/27/23



Next JCAR Meeting: Tuesday, Sept. 10, 11 a.m.
Room C-600, Bilandic Building, 160 N. LaSalle St., Chicago
Meeting will be live streamed on the JCAR website

Joint Committee on Administrative Rules

Senator Bill Cunningham, Co-Chair Representative Ryan Spain, Co-Chair
Senator Cristina Castro Representative Eva-Dina Delgado
Senator Donald DeWitte Representative Jackie Haas

Senator Dale Fowler Representative Steven Reick
Senator Napoleon Harris, llI Representative Curtis Tarver, I
Senator Sue Rezin Representative Dave Vella

Kim Schultz, Executive Director m Kevin Kulavic, Deputy Director
700 Stratton Office Building, Springfield IL 62706
217-785-2254 m jcar@ilga.gov




